PUBG New Map “Codename: Savage” Returns With A New Name

While the Xbox One version of the popular battle royale title continues to maneuver its way through development out of the Preview Program, the Steam’s fully developed version is ready for its third map. Previously called “Codenamed: Savage,” the new map is back and better than ever – and now, officially named.

Bluehole recently took to their Steam page to give a glimpse at what’s to come while also explaining the chosen title:

As we explained in our “Inspirations of Codename: Savage” blog posts (part 1 here, part 2 here), this new map is inspired by a wide variety of islands across southeast Asia, including those found in Thailand and the Philippines. To reflect that inspiration, we invented a sort of hodgepodge combination of two words:

First, the Thai word for “fun:” สนุก (pronounced like “sah-nook”)
Second, the Filipino (Tagalog) word for “chicken:” manok (pronounced like “mah-nok”)”

“Combine the two and you get Codename: Savage’s new name: Sanhok (pronounced “sah-nok”). It’s grown on us quickly, and we hope all of you come to love it as much as we do!”

If you missed out on the first two rounds of testing, you’re in luck! Round three is beginning shortly and no key is required, all you need is a copy of PUBG. To play, simply locate the “Experimental Server” seen in your Steam library and wait for the loading times, which are notated below:

TESTING BEGINS:
THURS May 10, 7pm PDT / FRI May 11, 4am CEST / May 11, 11am KST

TESTING ENDS:
MON May 14, 4am PDT / May 14, 1pm CEST / May 14, 8pm KST

This is the final round of testing before its official launch, though the exact date has yet to be revealed. All we know is that it will only be a “couple months away,” so make sure you don’t miss out to test it before it launches in the main game!

Thoughts on the new PUBG map? What are you hoping to see from the team in the future? Sound off with your thoughts on that delicious chicken dinner in the comment section below, and don’t forget to check out DFTG on Twitter for gaming and entertainment news live 24/7!

Matt Ruppert715 Posts

Navy Veteran with a penchant for the FPS genre, Chewy has all aspects of the gaming community covered. Don't expect to see him on a console any time soon, however - though he has experience in all platforms, the PC Master Race has a firm hold on him.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password