Final Fantasy XVI Reveals New Character And Story Details

Final Fantasy XVI Reveals New Character And Story Details

Square Enix appears to be doing some Final Fantasy XVI world building ahead of the next major announcement scheduled for 2021. The Japanese publisher released a new teaser website for Final Fantasy XVI today, providing us a look at the world of Valisthea and its inhabitants, including the main character shown off in the game’s first trailer.

As revealed on the teaser site, the main character in Final Fantasy XVI is named Clive Rosfield. His younger brother – whose name was mentioned during the reveal event – is Joshua Rosfield, revealed to be the ‘Dominant of the Phoenix – Eikon of Fire.’ According to a recent PlayStation blog post, Dominants are “special beings who have the power of an Eikon residing within them.” Joshua awoke as a Dominant at a young age, which was unexpected as it was presumed that Clive would take on that particular mantle given his personality and his status a the firstborn son of te eArcduke of Rosaria.

Final Fantasy XVI Reveals New Character And Story Details

The Eikons are the most powerful and deadly creatures in Valisthea. Each resides within a Dominant—a single man or woman who is blessed with the ability to call upon their dread power. In some nations these Dominants are treated as royalty in admiration of this strength—in others they are bound in fear of it, and forced to serve as weapons of war. Those who are born as Dominants cannot escape their fate, however cruel it may be.”

The existence of Dominants puts an interesting spin on a Final Fantasy title. Instead of acquiring summons or being a chosen heir of several Eikons, as was the case with FFXV’s Noctis, Dominants seemingly don’t know they are such until they’ve been chosen by an Eikon, and each Dominant seemingly only possesses the capability of commanding a single Eikon within themselves.

The third main character revealed by the teaser site is Jill Warrick, a ward of Rosaria who was taken in following the fall of the Northern Territories in order to foster a peace between two nations. Think Theon Greyjoy, essentially. Jill was raised alongside the Rosfield brothers, and as such became their trusted confidant.

As for Square Enix’s world building, the world in which Final Fantasy XVI takes place is called Valisthea, “A Land Blessed in the Light of the Mothercrystals.” There are six distinct realms of Valisthea: The Grand Duchy of Rosaria, The Holy Empire of Sanbreque, The Kingdom of Waloed, The Dhalmekian Republic, The Iron Kindom, and The Crystalline Dominion. Those looking to read up on each realm can do so right here.

Final Fantasy XVI is now in development for the PS5.

So, thoughts on the newly revealed character and world details? Let us know in the comments section below, and as always, stay tuned to Don’t Feed the Gamers for all the latest gaming and entertainment news! Don’t forget to follow DFTG on Twitter for our 24/7 news feed!

If you enjoy this writer’s work, please consider supporting them by tossing a KoFi their way! Every little bit helps and aims to keep DFTG independent and free of bias. Thanks so much for your support! Ryan ‘Cinna’ Carrier @ KoFi

Ryan "Cinna" Carrier3026 Posts

Ryan is the Lead Editor for Don't Feed the Gamers. When he isn't writing, Ryan is likely considering yet another playthrough of Final Fantasy IX. He's also the DFTG cinnamon bun.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password