Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Sephiroth Gameplay Revealed (VIDEO)

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Sephiroth Gameplay Revealed (VIDEO)

The One-Winged Angel is officially coming to Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, delighting Final Fantasy fans as well as even those that have been begging creator Masahiro Sakurai to lighten up on the addition of new sword users. Having been a week now since the announcement of the new character addition, Sakurai has released a new video showing off all the upcoming additions to the game alongside an in-depth look at Sephiroth’s moveset.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Sephiroth Gameplay Revealed (VIDEO)

Masahiro Sakurai took to YouTube and Twitch today to showcase Sephiroth in all his One-Winged glory. Diving right in, it is revealed in the video that Barrett, Tifa, and Aerith are all coming to the game as Mii Fighter costumes, which should excite those looking to reenact certain moments from Final Fantasy VII using Sephiroth. Chocobo (Hat) has also been added in, as has the Geno (Gunner) outfit.

As for Sephiroth’s moveset, Masahiro Sakurai picked up a controller himself to showcase the FF7 villain’s skills. According to Sakurai, Sephiroth’s iconic sword gives him some seriously dangerous range, though the character’s height and light weight also make him more susceptible to attacks. This is somewhat countered by his extremely versatile moveset, with many of the ability names coming from previous Sephiroth appearances in other video games. Sephiroth’s sword skills seem mostly relegated to his normal attacks, though Octoslash is also thrown into the mix as a gap-closer and lifesaver, mechanically similar to Fox’s Up + B.

One does not simply add Sephiroth to a Super Smash Bros. game without throwing in some extra goodies. The new stage coming soon to the game is the Northern Cave, which will have a dynamic background depicting some of the final story beats of Final Fantasy VII. Here’s the full list of soundtracks that are also being added:

  • Opening – Bombing Mission
  • Those Who Fight (AC Version)
  • Those Who Fight Further (AC Version)
  • Aerith’s Theme
  • Main Theme of FINAL FANTASY VII
  • Cosmo Canyon
  • One-Winged Angel
  • Advent: One-Winged Angel

Challenger Pack 8 – Sephiroth is slated to release on December 22nd for $5.99. Those that purchased Fighters Pass Vol. 2 will automatically get the DLC upon release. Those interested in testing Sephiroth out before his official release can do so by defeating him in the Sephiroth Challenge, which is available now through the 22nd.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is now available exclusively on Nintendo Switch.

So, thoughts on Sephiroth’s moveset? What do you think about the new Mii Fighter costumes? Let us know in the comments section below, and as always, stay tuned to Don’t Feed the Gamers for all the latest gaming and entertainment news! Don’t forget to follow DFTG on Twitter for our 24/7 news feed!

If you enjoy this writer’s work, please consider supporting them by tossing a KoFi their way! Every little bit helps and aims to keep DFTG independent and free of bias. Thanks so much for your support! Ryan ‘Cinna’ Carrier @ KoFi

Ryan "Cinna" Carrier2956 Posts

Ryan is the Lead Editor for Don't Feed the Gamers. When he isn't writing, Ryan is likely considering yet another playthrough of Final Fantasy IX. He's also the DFTG cinnamon bun.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password