Destiny 2: Beyond Light Details Hunter Revenant Abilities

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Beyond Light will take players on a brand new journey where they’ll be forced to embrace a whole new arsenal of powers to fight back against the Darkness. Over the last few days, Bungie set out to detail the new Stasis powers of the Guardians, first with the Warlock Shadebinder and then the Titan Behemoth. Last but not least, of course, is the Hunter Revenant, a dual ice axe wielding whirlwind of a warrior.

Bungie doesn’t describe the Revenant’s Super ability as wielding two ice axes but they sure do look like them. A recent blog post from the developers details the subclass and all of its abilities including the Super. The Hunter’s “Silence and Squall” summons two Kama blades, one that can be thrown to pierce the ground and freeze enemies in place while the other can then be used in a follow-up attack, detonating on impact and shattering outward in a “Stasis Storm” to hunt down remaining threats.

The Hunter Revenant’s Melee attack also plays on this idea albeit a little weaker than the Super. Using the Withering Blade melee attack, Hunters are able to throw a Stasis Shuriken at enemies, slowing them down while damaging them. Landing two consecutive shuriken attacks on a single target will freeze them immediately.

Destiny 2

The Destiny 2 developers also detailed the three new grenades that players will be able to utilize to their fullest. The Glacier Grenade instantly creates a wall of ice upon making contact with the ground or an enemy, freezing any threats in the vicinity of it. The Coldsnap Grenade acts similar to an Arcbolt Grenade, seeking out the nearest enemy before searching for 2 more unlucky foes only to freeze them all for a limited time. Lastly, similar to the Vortex Grenade is the Duskfield Grenade that creates a powerful Stasis field that sucks enemies in. Those who get caught are then slowed until they either freeze or escape the grenade’s grip.

Destiny 2 is currently available for PC, Xbox One, Google Stadia, and PlayStation 4, but is also expected to arrive on the Xbox Series consoles and PlayStation 5. The subclasses look insanely fun to play, however, players will need to wait until November 10th of this year before they get to fully use the new subclasses and their shiny new grenades.

Will you be jumping back into the fray when Beyond Light releases later this year? What subclass are you looking forward to getting your hands on the most? Let us know your thoughts on the Stasis subclasses in Destiny 2: Beyond Light and more in the comments section below. As always, don’t forget to follow Don’t Feed the Gamers on Twitter for 24/7 coverage of all things gaming and entertainment.

If you enjoy this writer’s work, please consider supporting them by tossing a KoFi their way! Every little bit helps and aims to keep DFTG independent and free of bias. Thank you so much for your support! Chris “Yippee” Calles @KoFi

Chris Calles1560 Posts

Known as "Stash" or Yippee Calles. He's a student of everything, avid adrenaline junkie, and creator of random things. When he's not delving into a game, book, or movie - He's out teaching himself new things or taking part in some pretty epic adventures. You can find him on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password