Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare New Progression System Explained

With less than a week away from launch, Modern Warfare is ready to give the Call of Duty community the low-down on all the fresh changes headed their way. There will be familiar components with any new iteration of Call of Duty, but innovation and improvements are key to keeping players engaged. Before heading into the game later this month, Activision explains the new progression system they’ve got in place for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. Here’s what it looks like:

call of duty modern warfare progression ranking system

“In Modern Warfare, you will unlock loadout options, Killstreaks, and Field Upgrades through an initial series of Enlisted Ranks, acquire permanent rewards and icons through Seasonal Officer Ranks which are memorialized permanently, and unlock an arsenal of attachments and camos through Weapon Levels,” reads the official Activision Blog.

As players rank up in multiplayer mode (aka Special Ops), everyone begins as a Private in the Enlisted Ranks and start off their loadout between three default set-ups, limited killstreaks and field upgrades. This is nothing particularly new to those familiar with the franchise. Eventually, reaching Enlisted Rank: Private IV, additional features like a custom loadout will unlock. This ladder climb goes as far as Command Sargeant – Major V – Rank 55, where players will unlock new weapons, equipment, perks, and more.

In the new progression system for Modern Warfare, Enlisted Ranks range from 1 to 55. Functional items never reset nor will they ever get re-locked. Activision explains:

Rather than having to reset your Enlisted Rank, Modern Warfare will introduce Officer Ranks, a seasonal ranking system complete with rewards and 100 ranks to progress through. When you reach Officer Rank 1, you receive a cosmetic Weapon Blueprint for your promotion.

Ranking up through the Officer Ranks requires the same gameplay completion practices as you previously utilized in the Enlisted Ranks: by earning XP.

Each time you level up within the Officer Ranks, you will unlock a special Officer Challenge. Similar to Daily Challenges, these objectives will reward plenty of XP upon completion, but also give you a special Seasonal Ribbon.”

With every 10 ribbons gained, season emblems are unlocked. After achieving 100 of them, players are rewarded a special animated emblem as proof that they worked hard to earn the “ultimate achievement for that season.” At launch, Officer Ranks can go up to 55 Enlisted Ranks at which point players will acquire Officer Rank 1.

In other words, there’s tons of rewards to be earned by ranking up! For the entire breakdown of Modern Warfare’s progression system, ribbons, and how to gain experience, check out the official Activision blog.

Are you a fan of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare’s new and improved progression system? Do you think this was a step up or a step back for Activision and team? Let us know what you think in the comments section below or start a conversation on Don’t Feed the Gamers Facebook page. To stay up to date on gaming and entertainment news as it happens, follow us on Twitter! Here are some of our latest:

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is set for release on October 25th for PC, Xbox One, and PlayStation 4.

Hoi Duong2091 Posts

Hoi is an elusive figure at DFTG, whose favorite past-times include chillin' in the Fade, reading manga, watching anime, collecting novelty items, and gaming.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password