Nintendo Takes Top Honor at Tokyo Game Show With Breath of the Wild

Tokyo Game Show

Having launched alongside the Nintendo Switch back in March, it was only a matter of time before The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild started raking in the awards. During this year’s Tokyo Game Show, they did exactly that by claiming Game of the Year. This marks Nintendo’s second win in a row for top honors at the event, with Splatoon taking home the award in 2016.

During the Tokyo Game Show, the annual Japan Game Awards, which are organized by the Computer Entertainment Supplier’s Association(CESA), are presented. This year saw two different awards(2017 Game Designers Award and the Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Award) and three categories(Game of the Year Division, Amateur Division, and the Future Division). CESA determined the winners of the GotY and Amateur divisions while those present at the Tokyo Game Show voted on the Future Division between September 21 and 23 after attending a screening that was held by the committee. Here’s the full list of winners:

Game of the Year Division

  • Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – Grand Award, Award for Excellence
  • Resident Evil 7: Biohazard – Award for Excellence
  • Final Fantasy XV – Award for Excellence
  • Horizon Zero Dawn – Award for Excellence
  • Monster Hunter XX: Double Cross – Award for Excellence
  • NieR: Automata – Award for Excellence
  • Nioh – Award for Excellence
  • Overwatch – Award for Excellence
  • Persona 5 – Award for Excellence
  • Pokemon Sun and Pokemon Moon – Award for Excellence, Best Sales Award, Global Award Japanese Product
  • The Last Guardian – Award for Excellence
  • PlayStation VR – Special Award
  • FIFA 17 – Global Award Foreign Product

Amateur Division

  • Trace Paper, ECC College of Computer and Multimedia – Grand Award, Award for Excellence
  • Ultimate Selfy, ECC College of Computer and Multimedia – Award for Excellence, Individual Award
  • DOOR, Vantan Game Academy – Award for Excellence
  • Paku Roll, International Information Engineer Automobile College – Award for Excellence
  • Pixmash, Hal Nagoya – Award for Excellence
  • Scarp Factory, ECC College of Computer and Multimedia – Honorable Mention
  • Twin Candles, Nihon Kogakuin College – Honorable Mention
  • Hesame Pivochan, ECC College of Computer and Multimedia – Honorable Mention
  • Pechantet, Hal Osaka – Honorable Mention

Future Division

As can be seen above, Breath of the Wild had quite a bit of competition at this year’s Tokyo Game Show. Coming out ahead of the likes of Horizon Zero Dawn, NieR: Automata, and Persona 5 certainly was no east feat, but Nintendo was able to pull it off. Maybe they can go for the three-peat with Super Mario Odyssey in 2018.

As for the 2017 Game Designers Award, that was given to Playdead for their visually beautiful, thought-provoking Inside, which will be coming to the Switch at some point in the future. Pokemon Go took home the 2017 Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Award for its use of AR, contributions to disaster-affected parts of the world, and for the fact that it became an international sensation seemingly overnight. Keep it tuned to Don’t Feed the Gamers as awards season pushes forward, and for other gaming news, check out the following:

What say you, gamers? Is The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild going to dominate future awards shows, or will other titles claim victory? Sound off in the comments section below, and be sure to follow DFTG on Twitter for live gaming and entertainment news 24/7!

Eric Garrett2269 Posts

Eric is an editor and writer for Don't Feed the Gamers. When he is not staring at a computer screen filled with text, he is usually staring at a computer screen filled with controllable animations. Today's youth call this gaming. He also likes to shoot things. With a camera, of course.


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password